So many projects so little time

Posted: April 17, 2013 in Ambilight, Phantom

I’ve gotten myself into quite a few projects at the moment and I think I need to spend some time finishing a few things off rather than just taking new things on. The first and easiest thing to tick off the list would be Ambilight. It’s all up and running and working great! I really love it. All that needs doing is packaging it all up so that it looks nice. In doing so I have ordered a few things which should all arrive soon. The first thing I did after trying out a few wall warts was to order a decent 5.5A switchmode power supply. I think it’s good practice to have a supply that can output a good deal more than you need so it is not living on the edge of it’s capabilities.

I didn’t like having the Arduino hanging off the edge of the TV and needed another 5V supplied micro board so I ordered a Xino Mini from Ciseco. This is a great little respin of the Arduino Mini but doesn’t carry it’s heavy cost. It will be great and unnoticeable behind the TV. Along with that I needed a 5V I/O FTDI adapter which is the last thing I am waiting for as the wrong part was sent out to me. Once I have it all put together I’ll post pictures but this was a fun little project.

Apart from this I have been playing with my EVE board and getting a few home automation projects off the ground. Not too much to speak of yet but keep an eye on my github page because all the code will be there.

The last thing I have been busy with is a software project that will be very useful for home and work which has started as a python application which I have named Phantom. This program will run as a client or server and using the Pyro library dynamically generate a list of compatible devices on a network, query their capabilities and generate a GUI to control them. It was dreamed up in the middle of the night and will be great for hardware test Linux boards. I think I’ll start out with a lot of things hard coded and then try to make as much as dynamic as possible. Below is the beginnings of what I hope to achieve.

Phantom Flowchart

Leave a Reply

